Video Storytelling: Unique Dead Week Destressers

For our final project, Nick and I decided to do something outside of the box.  After a lot of brainstorming, we decided to cover unusual or unique destressing activities.  It’s not uncommon to find that most students enjoy drinking on their spare time, so we wanted to find activities people did that were different.  After deciding to cover a game of water polo, we went to Corbett Pool and got different shots of players in action.  We managed to get some good B-roll footage using Nick’s GoPro, and interviewed a member of the team with my iPhone 6.  At first, I was a little hesitant to use an iPhone to capture video just because of some negative past experiences.  However, after reviewing the footage, we realized it was actually good quality.  The next day, we covered some people playing foosball.  Nick got some great B-roll footage using his GoPro, placing it in unique angles.  That night, we covered board game night at his friend’s house.  We figured three activities would be more than plenty to fill the time.

I really enjoyed this project.  One of the things I enjoy most is getting to interview people.  I got to hear stories from people I wouldn’t have interacted with before.  I love getting to know what people do and why, which I think is a great trait for someone interested in a future career in journalism.  I don’t think there was anything I didn’t really enjoy.  It took some time trying to get all sorts of different shots.  I’m the type of person who wants to get things over as soon as possible, so patience really is a virtue in this field.

I was surprised with how many different destresser activities we found.  At first, we had about five or six lined up.  It made me realize that not everybody drinks to have fun in Laramie, so that was a refreshing surprise.  If we could go back and do one thing differently, I would have redone the last interview.  For whatever reason, the last interview with Willy didn’t turn out on my phone, so we used the GoPro for his interview.  You could tell the difference in visual and audio quality.  I just today figured out the issue with my phone, but it was too late to re-shoot the interview.  It would be better to have everything uniform.  I also would have liked to do more voice-overs, but seeing as some of my voice-overs were shaky, it was a good thing we left them out.

Video is going to be an integral part of my future career.  Broadcast journalism revolves around being in front of a camera and being broadcast to millions of people.  It’s important to understand how to use it now so that I can be well prepared in my field.  Another part of video is asking the right questions during an interview.  I still have some work to do in perfecting the art of interviewing.  All in all, I enjoyed this project!

Leave a Reply

